Find Out If Your Local Police Station Is Still Open

It has been revealed in a Freedom of Information request that in the past eight years 26 police stations have been shut down in Devon and Cornwall. These figures were obtained from the buildings and estate department of the force and they relate to “freehold properties only and those that were specifically police stations”.

Name of Station Year of Closure
South Molton 2010
Ashburton 2011
Teignmouth 2011
Tavistock 2012
St Columb 2012
Salcombe 2012
Camelford 2012
Brixham Shopfront 2012
Bodmin Shopfront 2012
Paignton 2013
Devonport 2013
Truro 2014
Teignmouth Shopfront 2014
Perranporth 2014
Axminster 2015
Chudleigh 2015
Hayle 2015
Plymouth Beacon Park Road 2015
Plymstock 2015
South Brent 2015
Redruth 2016
Dawlish Shopfront 2016
Callington 2016
Braunton 2017
Dartmouth 2017
Truro Shopfront 2017


The closure of a station is not necessarily the end as the Devon and Cornwall Police noted that even though a station is closed, it may be co-located with a fire station, a new police station built or its teams operating from another base.

In 2017, according to Plymouth Live, the Devon and Cornwall Police made £3,330,400 from the sales of police stations. The report was made amidst the crippling cuts to the force’s funding by the government, which was affecting its effectiveness. Given the choice, the force has always stated that it would rather place all of its funds into frontline policing instead of properties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *