Four Bath Rugby players picked for England against Japan at Twickenham


Rugby winger Joe Cokanasiga is set for his England debut against Japan at Twickenham. The player, together with Zach Mercer and Charlie Ewels, will team up for Bath Rugby when it plays Japan for the third Autumn Test on Saturday (3pm).

Sam Underhill who starred in the 16-15 defeat to the All Blacks last weekend will be on the bench.

Head coach Eddie Jones, who once coached Japan, said: “Japan is an important game for us as we want to get back to winning ways. We have also tested ourselves in having a shorter preparation.

“We gave the players two days off after three weeks of intensive work. We have had a short preparation but a good preparation.

“This weekend is a good opportunity for us to test the depth of the squad. A number of players have changed their roles, going from finishers to starters and starters to finishers, so that is the essential change to the squad.

“It is exciting to be able to give starting opportunities to Zach Mercer and Joe Cokanasiga, and young Ted Hill on the bench.”

This will be the second time England and Japan will play each other, the first being the Rugby World Cup clash in 1987 when England thrashed Japan 60-7 in Australia.

England XV

  1. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 23 caps)
  2. Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
  3. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 28 caps)
  4. Alex Lozowski (Saracens, 4 caps)
  5. Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks, 41 caps)
  6. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 49 caps, captain)
  7. Danny Care (Harlequins, 83 caps)
  8. Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps)
  9. Jamie George (Saracens, 30 caps)
  10. Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 13 caps)
  11. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 8 caps)

5.MaroItoje (Saracens, 24 caps) vice-captain

  1. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 66 caps)
  2. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 6 caps)
  3. Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)


  1. Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 95 caps)
  2. Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)
  3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 15 caps)
  4. Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)
  5. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 7 caps)
  6. Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 31 caps)
  7. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 63 caps)
  8. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 15 caps)



Author: anyone


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here